Related News

Home » Nation

China Places H1N1 In SARS-type Category

CHINA'S government declared swine flu a category II infectious disease, the Ministry of Health said yesterday.

That means any infection must be reported immediately to government authorities and gives local governments the ability to quarantine areas. The same category was given to SARS, which killed nearly 800 people in 2003.

Meanwhile, international health organizations have agreed to use the name H1N1 influenza A and avoid the term swine flu in order to prevent the needless slaughter of pigs.


Copyright © 1999- Shanghai Daily. All rights reserved.Preferably viewed with Internet Explorer 8 or newer browsers.

沪公网安备 31010602000204号

Email this to your friend