Related News

Home » Nation

Environment watchdog blacklists eight cities

CHINA'S environmental watchdog blacklisted eight cities yesterday for outdated sulphur removal processes at municipal sewage treatment plants and five power plants for fabricating smoke-gas monitoring data.

The cities are Cangzhou, Jinzhong, Suihua, Shangluo, Sanming, Jinjiang, Shiyan and Yongzhou.

The Ministry of Environmental Protection spokesman Tao Detian said the eight cities would be banned any new construction projects that needed more chemical oxygen demand (COD) or emissions, and the allocation of national construction funds would be suspended "if they cannot fix problems by the end of the year."

"Punishment in line with national regulations will be imposed on the five plants," Tao said.

The plants are in Tianjin's Chentang, Hubei's Ezhou, Sichuan's Luzhou, Guizhou's Yaxi and Gansu's Jingyuan.

He said during a nationwide environmental inspection, the ministry found environmental problems in the eight cities, including inadequate implementation of fare policies for municipal sewage treatment and the unreasonable shutdown of sewage treatment facilities.

Supervisory departments would investigate and punish local officials if their dereliction of duty causes major social impact.

The country has stepped up efforts in saving energy and reducing emissions.

Last year, the emission of COD, a main index of water pollution, fell 4.42 percent in China and sulphur dioxide emission dropped 5.95 percent.


Copyright © 1999- Shanghai Daily. All rights reserved.Preferably viewed with Internet Explorer 8 or newer browsers.

沪公网安备 31010602000204号

Email this to your friend