Related News

Home » Nation

Five Chinese cities seek UNESCO heritage status

CHINA has selected five cities for its application for the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage status for the so-called "Silk Road on the Sea," – an ancient sea-going trade route between China and other countries.

The cities are Guangzhou in Guangdong Province, Quanzhou in Fujian Province, Ningbo in Zhejiang Province, Yangzhou in Jiangsu Province and Penglai in Shandong Province, today's Information Times newspaper reported.

Yangzhou is the only city not on the country's coastline, but it sits along the Yangtze River which leads to the sea.

China expects to submit the application after 2010, the newspaper quoted Chen Yuhuan, an official with Guangzhou's Administration of Cultural Heritage, as saying.

The country plans to incorporate these coastal cities into a broader application bid with Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan to list the ancient Silk Road for UNESCO World Cultural Heritage protection, the newspaper said.

The 7,000-kilometer-long Silk Road, mainly a trade route linking Asia and Europe, extended from the Chinese cities of Luoyang and Xi'an to Europe via southern and central Asian countries.


Copyright © 1999- Shanghai Daily. All rights reserved.Preferably viewed with Internet Explorer 8 or newer browsers.

沪公网安备 31010602000204号

Email this to your friend