The story appears on

Page A16

November 19, 2021

GET this page in PDF

Free for subscribers

View shopping cart

Related News

Home » Sports » Baseball

Cy Young award winners

Toronto Blue Jays pitcher Robbie Ray was named the American League’s Cy Young Award winner on Wednesday as the Milwaukee Brewers’ Corbin Burnes won the National League award. Ray was a near-unanimous choice for the annual pitching honor, garnering 29 of the 30 first choice votes for a points total of 207 in a ballot conducted by the Baseball Writers Association of America. Ray, 30, is the fourth Toronto pitcher in history to win the Cy Young following Pat Hentgen in 1996, Roger Clemens (1997 and 1998) and Roy Halladay in 2003. Ray’s award follows a season which saw him notch 13 wins with an earned run average of 2.84. The New York Yankees’ Gerrit Cole finished second despite leading the league with 16 wins. Cole received one first choice vote, and 29 second place votes on the BBWAA’s preferential ballot for a points tally of 123. Lance Lynn of the Chicago White Sox was a distant third with 48 points. In the NL voting, Burnes pipped the Philadelphia Phillies’ Zack Wheeler to win by a slender 10-point margin under the BBWAA’s scoring system. Burnes and Wheeler both finished with the same number of first choice votes — 12 — but Burnes had 151 points to Wheeler’s 141 due to more second choice votes. Los Angeles Dodgers’ Max Scherzer was third.


Copyright © 1999- Shanghai Daily. All rights reserved.Preferably viewed with Internet Explorer 8 or newer browsers.

沪公网安备 31010602000204号

Email this to your friend