ICC takes no action over ball tampering
NO action will be taken against England after South Africa raised concerns about the condition of the ball during the third day of the third test in Cape Town, the International Cricket Council said yesterday.
Television pictures showed England bowler Stuart Broad stopping the ball with his foot and the issue was brought to the attention of match referee Roshan Mahanama on Tuesday, although South Africa made no official complaint.
TV footage also suggested seamer Jimmy Anderson may have been picking the seam with his thumbnail.
"The International Cricket Council confirms that it has received no official lodgment from South Africa team management laying a charge against any England player following reports of alleged breaches of Law 42.3 (changing the condition of the ball) on day three of the third test between the two teams in Cape Town," the ICC said in a statement.
"With play on day four of the match having resumed, the deadline for submission of such notification has now passed. In addition, having reviewed relevant television footage, the umpires also decided not to bring a charge against any player for a breach of Law 42.3."
Meanwhile, England, handed an improbable victory target of 466 to win the third test against South Africa, reached 38 without loss at tea on the fourth day.
Openers Andrew Strauss and Alastair Cook, on 15 and 21 not out respectively, batted through 16 overs without blemish after South Africa declared its second innings on 447 for seven.
South Africa batted for 40 minutes after lunch, scoring 50 runs and leaving England a minimum of 146 overs in which to survive.
AB de Villiers (34) fell in the second over after lunch when he charged Jimmy Anderson and skied a drive, Broad keeping his eye on the ball well as he ran from mid-off to deep extra cover to take the catch.
Television pictures showed England bowler Stuart Broad stopping the ball with his foot and the issue was brought to the attention of match referee Roshan Mahanama on Tuesday, although South Africa made no official complaint.
TV footage also suggested seamer Jimmy Anderson may have been picking the seam with his thumbnail.
"The International Cricket Council confirms that it has received no official lodgment from South Africa team management laying a charge against any England player following reports of alleged breaches of Law 42.3 (changing the condition of the ball) on day three of the third test between the two teams in Cape Town," the ICC said in a statement.
"With play on day four of the match having resumed, the deadline for submission of such notification has now passed. In addition, having reviewed relevant television footage, the umpires also decided not to bring a charge against any player for a breach of Law 42.3."
Meanwhile, England, handed an improbable victory target of 466 to win the third test against South Africa, reached 38 without loss at tea on the fourth day.
Openers Andrew Strauss and Alastair Cook, on 15 and 21 not out respectively, batted through 16 overs without blemish after South Africa declared its second innings on 447 for seven.
South Africa batted for 40 minutes after lunch, scoring 50 runs and leaving England a minimum of 146 overs in which to survive.
AB de Villiers (34) fell in the second over after lunch when he charged Jimmy Anderson and skied a drive, Broad keeping his eye on the ball well as he ran from mid-off to deep extra cover to take the catch.
- About Us
- |
- Terms of Use
- |
-
RSS
- |
- Privacy Policy
- |
- Contact Us
- |
- Shanghai Call Center: 962288
- |
- Tip-off hotline: 52920043
- 娌狪CP璇侊細娌狪CP澶05050403鍙-1
- |
- 浜掕仈缃戞柊闂讳俊鎭湇鍔¤鍙瘉锛31120180004
- |
- 缃戠粶瑙嗗惉璁稿彲璇侊細0909346
- |
- 骞挎挱鐢佃鑺傜洰鍒朵綔璁稿彲璇侊細娌瓧绗354鍙
- |
- 澧炲肩數淇′笟鍔$粡钀ヨ鍙瘉锛氭勃B2-20120012
Copyright 漏 1999- Shanghai Daily. All rights reserved.Preferably viewed with Internet Explorer 8 or newer browsers.