The story appears on

Page A16

January 16, 2020

GET this page in PDF

Free for subscribers

View shopping cart

Related News

Home » Sports » Cricket

Stokes is Player of the Year

Ben Stokes was named International Cricket Council Player of the Year yesterday after a red-hot 12 months during which the allrounder helped England to a maiden 50-over World Cup crown. Stokes smashed an unbeaten 84 in a heart-stopping World Cup final against New Zealand at Lord’s, which ended in a tie before hosts England claimed the title on boundary count back. The 28-year-old also hit 135 not out to secure an astonishing victory for England in the third Ashes test against Australia at Headingley. Australia quick Pat Cummins pipped, among others, compatriots Steve Smith and Marnus Labuschagne to the Test Player of the Year award. India opener Rohit Sharma was awarded ODI Player of the Year after smashing seven centuries, five of them in the World Cup, in the calendar year. Labuschagne won the Emerging Player award while India captain Virat Kohli, who swept the Player, Test and ODI Player of the Year awards for 2018, was named captain of both the ICC test and one-day teams of the year.


Copyright © 1999- Shanghai Daily. All rights reserved.Preferably viewed with Internet Explorer 8 or newer browsers.

沪公网安备 31010602000204号

Email this to your friend