The story appears on

Page A16

June 17, 2019

GET this page in PDF

Free for subscribers

View shopping cart

Related News

Home » Sports » Motor Racing

Le Mans triumph for Alonso

Fernando Alonso, a two-time Formula One champion, celebrated his second straight Le Mans 24 Hour race title yesterday in a Toyota, sharing the driving with Sebastien Buemi and Kazuki Nakajima.

Another Toyota driven by Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and Jose Maria Lopez was in the lead and on course for victory only to suffer a puncture one hour from the finish.

Entering the closing stages, Alonso’s car lagged over a lap behind the other Toyota hybrid, before lady luck intervened to gift them the advantage and victory in the 87th edition of Le Mans.

Alonso’s No. 8 car crossed the line 17 seconds clear of the pole-sitting No. 7 after 385 laps of the iconic circuit. The outcome was a replica of 2018 and it handed Alonso, Buemi and Nakajima the endurance drivers’ title with Toyota having taken the constructors’ crown last month.


Copyright © 1999- Shanghai Daily. All rights reserved.Preferably viewed with Internet Explorer 8 or newer browsers.

沪公网安备 31010602000204号

Email this to your friend