Related News
Ref backed over disputed goal
REFEREE Stuart Atwell's decision to allow Dirk Kuyt's controversial opening goal to stand in Liverpool's 2-2 draw with Sunderland on Saturday has been deemed the correct decision by the Premier League.
Liverpool's first goal after six minutes brought howls of protest after the referee adjudged Sunderland defender Michael Turner had taken a freekick when he back-heeled the ball towards goalkeeper Simon Mignolet.
The center-back gifted the ball to Fernando Torres who ran through the Sunderland defence and set up Kuyt to score.
Atwell, who did not see Turner back-heel the ball, allowed the goal to stand, angering Sunderland manager Steve Bruce said.
However, the Premier League's Professional Game Match Officials board later reviewed the goal and said in a statement that "the correct decisions were made".
"According to the Laws of the Game, having stopped the game for any infringement the referee is required to 'indicate the restart of the match'," it said. "The ball is in play when it is kicked and moves. So, in this case, the ball was in play as soon as it was kicked by a Sunderland player.
"Also, the freekick must be taken from the place where the infringement occurred. Again, in this case, the referee correctly determined that the freekick was played from the right place."
Liverpool's first goal after six minutes brought howls of protest after the referee adjudged Sunderland defender Michael Turner had taken a freekick when he back-heeled the ball towards goalkeeper Simon Mignolet.
The center-back gifted the ball to Fernando Torres who ran through the Sunderland defence and set up Kuyt to score.
Atwell, who did not see Turner back-heel the ball, allowed the goal to stand, angering Sunderland manager Steve Bruce said.
However, the Premier League's Professional Game Match Officials board later reviewed the goal and said in a statement that "the correct decisions were made".
"According to the Laws of the Game, having stopped the game for any infringement the referee is required to 'indicate the restart of the match'," it said. "The ball is in play when it is kicked and moves. So, in this case, the ball was in play as soon as it was kicked by a Sunderland player.
"Also, the freekick must be taken from the place where the infringement occurred. Again, in this case, the referee correctly determined that the freekick was played from the right place."
- About Us
- |
- Terms of Use
- |
-
RSS
- |
- Privacy Policy
- |
- Contact Us
- |
- Shanghai Call Center: 962288
- |
- Tip-off hotline: 52920043
- 娌狪CP璇侊細娌狪CP澶05050403鍙-1
- |
- 浜掕仈缃戞柊闂讳俊鎭湇鍔¤鍙瘉锛31120180004
- |
- 缃戠粶瑙嗗惉璁稿彲璇侊細0909346
- |
- 骞挎挱鐢佃鑺傜洰鍒朵綔璁稿彲璇侊細娌瓧绗354鍙
- |
- 澧炲肩數淇′笟鍔$粡钀ヨ鍙瘉锛氭勃B2-20120012
Copyright 漏 1999- Shanghai Daily. All rights reserved.Preferably viewed with Internet Explorer 8 or newer browsers.