Related News

Home » Sports » Soccer

US women look to extend dominance

THE United States starts the defense of its Algarve Cup title today against Denmark, the country it beat in the last two finals.

The Americans have won the annual women's tournament in southern Portugal six times in the past eight years. In last year's final, they defeated the Danes 2-1. Along with the United States and Denmark in Group B are four-time champion Norway and Iceland. Group A which includes two-time world champion Germany, two-time Algarve Cup champion China, Sweden and Finland. The winners of each group will meet in the final on March 11. The tournament also includes another group - Group C - but Portugal, Poland, Wales and Austria are not competing for the title.


Copyright © 1999- Shanghai Daily. All rights reserved.Preferably viewed with Internet Explorer 8 or newer browsers.

沪公网安备 31010602000204号

Email this to your friend