Related News
Berdych irked by umpire鈥檚 double bounce call
TOMAS Berdych was certain — absolutely certain — he managed to get his racket on the ball before it bounced twice.
Or at least he carried on as if he were sure of it.
Ever so briefly making a bit of a comeback after dropping the first two sets of his US Open quarterfinal against Marin Cilic, the sixth-seeded Berdych was serving at 4-2, 30-15 in the third when the point in question arrived.
At the end of a 12-stroke exchange, Cilic hit a shot that clipped the net cord and bounced onto Berdych’s side. Berdych raced forward, lifted the ball back over, and Cilic put his reply into the net. Berdych thought he won the point. But chair umpire Louise Azemar Engzell awarded it to Cilic.
“What are you talking about?” Berdych began. He walked over to Engzell’s stand and leaned on it, putting his head down, before resuming his argument.
“Have you ever had a racket in your hand?” he asked. “This is a horrible call. This is (an) absolutely horrible call. There is absolutely no explanation.”
Engzell told Berdych that she saw the ball bounce twice before he hit it.
“If it bounced twice,” he responded, “it is impossible to hit a shot like that.”
But a slow-motion replay showed the ball did, in fact, bounce a fraction of a second before the lunging Berdych made contact.
- About Us
- |
- Terms of Use
- |
-
RSS
- |
- Privacy Policy
- |
- Contact Us
- |
- Shanghai Call Center: 962288
- |
- Tip-off hotline: 52920043
- 娌狪CP璇侊細娌狪CP澶05050403鍙-1
- |
- 浜掕仈缃戞柊闂讳俊鎭湇鍔¤鍙瘉锛31120180004
- |
- 缃戠粶瑙嗗惉璁稿彲璇侊細0909346
- |
- 骞挎挱鐢佃鑺傜洰鍒朵綔璁稿彲璇侊細娌瓧绗354鍙
- |
- 澧炲肩數淇′笟鍔$粡钀ヨ鍙瘉锛氭勃B2-20120012
Copyright 漏 1999- Shanghai Daily. All rights reserved.Preferably viewed with Internet Explorer 8 or newer browsers.