Related News

Home » Sports » Tennis

China Draws Germany In Fed Cup

LAST year's Fed Cup runner-up Spain will face Serbia in the World Group I playoffs.

Spain lost to the Czech Republic in the first round last weekend after having reached the final against Russia in 2008.

In the playoffs to determine which teams will participate in the elite eight-nation World Group I next year, Spain will host the Serbs, which used Jelena Jankovic and Ana Ivanovic to beat Japan in their World Group II match.

In the other best-of-five playoffs on April 25-26, France hosts Slovakia, China takes on Germany and Argentina will welcome Ukraine.

In World Group II, it's: Belgium vs Canada; Israel vs Estonia; Japan vs Poland; and Australia vs Switzerland.

The United States, which has won 17 Fed Cup titles, visits the Czech Republic in the Fed Cup semifinals while defending champion Russia takes on Italy.


Copyright © 1999- Shanghai Daily. All rights reserved.Preferably viewed with Internet Explorer 8 or newer browsers.

沪公网安备 31010602000204号

Email this to your friend