The story appears on

Page A4

September 9, 2009

GET this page in PDF

Free for subscribers

View shopping cart

Related News

Home » Metro

City hails 60 model foreigners

SIXTY foreigners have been honored in this year's Shanghai Magnolia Silver Awards for making outstanding contributions to the city's social and economic development.

The Shanghai Foreign Affairs Office announced the winners yesterday and said it was the biggest group of recipients since the awards' 1989 inception.

The awards, presented annually, are one of the top honors the government bestows on expatriates to recognize their contributions to the city.

So far 700 foreigners have won the coveted award.

The 60 award winners this year come from the United States, Japan, Britain, Germany, Singapore, Canada, France, Sweden, Malaysia, Australia, Netherlands, Egypt, South Korea, Finland, Algeria and Nepal.

They have been recognized for their long-term devotion to their local careers, which boosts technical and cultural exchanges between Shanghai and the rest of the world.

Li Mingjun, director general of the Foreign Affairs Office, thanked recipients yesterday during a ceremony to present badges and certificates to some of the award winners.

Li said he hoped the honored expatriates would continue to support the city as it took further steps to develop into an international economic, financial, trade and shipping center.

Torbjorn Sternsjo, president of Sapa Heat Transfer (Shanghai) Co Ltd and one of the winners, said he looked upon the award as a sign that he had been able to contribute to the development of Shanghai. He thanked the city government on behalf of all recipients for "this memorable recognition."

The Swede, who has lived in Shanghai more than 10 years, also has a Chinese name, Lei Xinghu. "For a foreigner, Shanghai is a very exciting place to live and work," he said.

"The city has always had a sort of international atmosphere. We are still eager to continue our contributions to the future development of Shanghai."

Noureddine Berrah (Algeria)
Shanghai Energy Conservation Supervision Center

Paul J.Bowdler (Britain)
Production Director
Shanghai SECCO Petrochemical Co., Ltd

Rolf D Cremer (German)
Vice President
China Europe International Business School (CEIBS)

Chang Ket Leong (Malaysia)
President Autoliv China
Autoliv (Shanghai) Management Co., Ltd

Xiangli Chen (United States)
GE (China) Research and Development Center Co., Ltd

Richard David (Australia)
Shanghai Huatian Property Development Co., Ltd

Vincent Deubel (France)
Director General
Institute Pasteur of Shanghai, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Scott L.Friedman (United States)
Advisory Professor
Fudan University

Juergen Willi Fritz (German)
Productive general manager
ZF Shanghai Steering Co., Ltd

Jan Bertel Gardberg (Finland)
IKEA Distribution (Shanghai) Co., Ltd

Alf Gerlach (German)
Clinic professor
Shanghai Mental Health Center

Takayuki Hanazato (Japan)
Shanghai Academy of Agricultural Sciences

Andre Hartmann(France)
General Manager
Shanghai Radiall Electronics Co., Ltd

Rupert J. Hoogewerf (Britain)
Hurun Report

Guillaume Horreard (France)
General Manager
AREVA T&D Shanghai Power Automation Co., Ltd

Yinghe Hu (United States)
Executive Director
East China Normal University

Alan Hudson (Britain)
Guest Professor
Shanghai Administration Institute

Magnus Johansson (Sweden)
President of China
SKF (China) Investment Co., Ltd

Bjorn L.H.Jonson (Sweden)
Advisory Professor
Fudan University

Jung Min Ho (South Korea)
General Manager
Shanghai E-Mart Supercenter Co., Ltd

Kim Heung Soo (South Korea)
SMG-CJ Homeshopping Co. Ltd

Gong Li (United States)
Accenture (China) Co., Ltd

Joe Liu (United States)
Vice President,R&D,3M China Region
3M China Limited

Olivia Lum (Singapore)
Group CEO

Dale M MacDonald (Canada)
Ashland (China) Holdings Co., Ltd

Kenneth Macpherson (Britain)
Managing Director
Diageo China Ltd

Karl Heinz Mangartz (German)
General Manager
Degussa Specialty Chemicals (Shanghai) Co., Ltd

James W.McGill (United States)
President, Asia Pacific
Eaton Corporation

Charles M.McIntyre (United States)
Shanghai Jiaotong University

Minokawa Hisahiro (Japan)
Vice President of China
Canon(China)Co., Ltd Shanghai Branch

Miyagawa Masaru (Japan)
Shiseido China Co., Ltd

Yasser Youssef Mahmoud EI Negouly (Egypt)
Branch Manager
National Bank of Egypt Shanghai Branch

Ninomiya Yoshifumi (Japan)
Site Manager
Baosteel Co., Ltd

Osakabe Akihiko (Japan)
Director President
Panasonic Plasma Display Shanghai Co., Ltd

Peter Pang (Australia)
Bosch (China) Investment Ltd

Stehly Patrick JCE (France)
Senior Supervisor
Herrenknecht£?Shanghai£?Tunneling Equipment Co., Ltd

John F. Jr. Rosen (United States)
Visiting Professor
Xinhua Hospital, Shanghai Jiaotong University School of Medicine

Corinne Le Roy (France)
Managing Director
Shanghai UBI Computer Software Co., Ltd

John David Rowe (Britain)
General Manager
Shanghai Krupp Stainless Co., Ltd

Surendra Shrestha (Nepal)
Tongji University

Robert Bullen Smith (Britain)
Managing Director
Johnson Matthey (Shanghai) Catalyst Co., Ltd

Torbjorn Sternsjo (Sweden)
Sapa Heat Transfer (Shanghai) Co., Ltd

Sugiyama Matsujiro (Japan)
General Manager
Fujikura Shanghai Cable Co., Ltd

Richard Johannes Suurland (Netherlands)
ABB Electrical Machines Co., Ltd

Satoshi Takeda (Japan)
Panasonic Semiconductor (Shanghai)Co., Ltd

Shane Tedjarati (Canada)
Honeywell (China) Co., Ltd

Xuexi Tie (United States)
Senior specialist
Shanghai Meteorological Bureau

Kevin E.Wale (Australia)
General Motors (China) Investment Co., Ltd

Michael P.Walsh (United States)
Technical consultant
Shanghai Environmental Protection Bureau

Qun Wang Jamieson
Vice President
Yum (China) Investment Co., Ltd

Tyze-Chyang Wang (United States)
Amkor Assembly & Test(Shanghai)Co., Ltd

Henk Westerhoek (Netherlands)
Managing Director
Logwin Air + Ocean China Ltd

Jochen Wiedemann (German)
Shanghai Automotive Wind Tunnel Center

Wu Ping (United States)
Board Chairman
Spreadtrum Communication Inc.

Donald Edward Williams (United States)
Shanghai International Autocity Development Co., Ltd

Yamaguchi Chikara (Japan)
Mitsubishi Corporation(Shanghai)Limited

Yanaoka Hirokazu (Japan)
Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ(China),Ltd

Yoshimi Tone (Japan)
Kmoatsu Packaging Machinery(Shanghai)Co., Ltd

Dahai Yu (German)
Evonik (China) Co., Ltd

Manuel Zerwes (German)
Managing Director
Cognis Chemicals (China) Co., Ltd


Copyright © 1999- Shanghai Daily. All rights reserved.Preferably viewed with Internet Explorer 8 or newer browsers.

沪公网安备 31010602000204号

Email this to your friend