Related News

Home » Sports » Cricket

Champions League to be regular on ICC calender

A CHAMPIONS League Twenty20 tournament featuring the top domestic teams from seven nations will become a sanctioned annual event on the ICC international schedule, organizer Lalit Modi said.

"I think Champions League has already been slotted in as part of the FTP (Future Tours Program)," Modi, an Indian cricket board vice president who is also chairman of the Indian Premier League Twenty20 tournament, said in an interview published on the IPL Website.

The Champions League Twenty20, which will be held for the first time from October 8-23 in India, is jointly owned by the national cricket boards of Australia, India and South Africa.

"We're working with all the member countries and the ICC, and we have together come out with the dates of the Champions League to benefit everybody," Modi said.

The first edition of the Champions League was postponed last year after Mumbai attacks. It had been scheduled to feature eight teams - two each from India, Australia and South Africa, and one each from England and Pakistan.

The tournament has now been expanded to 12 teams and includes the domestic champions from the West Indies, New Zealand and Sri Lanka, along with teams from India, Australia, South Africa and England.

Pakistan is not sending any teams. India will be represented by IPL finalists Deccan Chargers and Bangalore Royal Challengers, and the Delhi Daredevils. Victoria and New South Wales states qualified from Australia, with the Cape Cobras and Eagles from South Africa, Trinidad and Tobago from the West Indies, Otago from New Zealand and Sri Lankan team Wayamba. The two English teams will be decided after the domestic Twenty20 championship, which ends in August.


Copyright © 1999- Shanghai Daily. All rights reserved.Preferably viewed with Internet Explorer 8 or newer browsers.

沪公网安备 31010602000204号

Email this to your friend